NYS Cyclocross Championship Venue Announced!

The 2011 New York State Cyclocross Championship race will take place at the Staten Island Cyclocross (SICX) race on Saturday, November 12, 2011. Wolf Pond Park in Staten Island will be the site of this year’s Championship race where New York State residents are eligible to compete for NYS Cyclocross Championship honors in 11 different race categories. The Staten Island Cyclocross race is now in its 4th year and has seen tremendous growth in both rider and spectator attendance. SICX will feature races for competitors of all levels, from local amateurs to national and international racers.


Updated 2011 Cyclocross Schedule

New York State Time Trial Championships – Results and Pictures

On behalf of the Tioga Velo Club and New York State Bicycle Racing Association, we would like to thank you for your participation in the New York State Time Trial Championships!

Results are now posted online at:


Pictures are posted also at:




Marsha Kapinus- Chief Judge
Jeff Poulin- Chief Referee
Lloyd Campbell- Promoter & President of Tioga Velo Club

2011 New York State Junior Road Race Championships and Criterium Championships

Team Placid Planet hosted the 2011 New York State Junior Road Race Championships and the 2011 New York State Criterium Championships for all ages as part of its Adirondack North Country Race Weekend June 11 and 12 in Wilmington and Saranac Lake New York.

The Wilmington-Whiteface Road Race was held in changeable, wet, and somewhat chilly weather on Saturday with 272 participants starting in nine separate fields and 18 categories. 37 juniors competed in the New York State Road Race Championship races for ages 10 to 18, 15 from New York State.

Winning NYS Champions jerseys were:

  • Hunter Dansin of Cambridge and Farm Team Cycling in the Boys 17-18
  • Keane Brennan also of Cambridge and Farm Team Boys 15-16
  • Julia Sante of Queensbury and Farm Team in the Girls 13-14
  • Gianni Polhemus of Spencertown and Farm Team in the Boys 13-14
  • Isaac Allen of Marlboro and Bicycle Depot in the Boys 10-12
  • Jacqueline Kocik of Red Hook and Capital Bicycle Racing Club in the Girls 10-12


The Saranac Lake Downtown Criterium, NYS Criterium Championship for the second year running, was held under likewise changeable weather on Sunday and 162 riders braved the elements — torrential downpours at times! — to toe the line.

Championship events for all eligible categories yielded the following winners of NYS Champions jerseys:

  • Jenny Ives of Saratoga and Farm Team Elite Cycling in the Women’s 123
  • Brendan Housler of Rochester and Mt. Borah/Minerva Design in the Men’s P123
  • Bill Golembieski of Brewerton and Bike Loft East in the Men’s U23
  • Bruce Beauharnois of Peru and Team Wear on Earth in the Men’s Cat 3
  • Loren Swears of Malta and Team Elevate in the Men’s Cat 4
  • Greg Olsen of New York City and CRCA/Jonathan Adler Racing in the Men’s 35+
  • Carl Reglar of Mt. Vernon and Verge Sport in the Men’s 45+
  • Nicole LaPlante of Peru and Team Placid Planet in the Women’s 35+
  • Donna Moody of Lake Placid and Team Placid Planet in the Women’s 45+
  • Steve Tinston of Blauvelt and Westwood Velo in the Men’s 55+
  • Mark McCarthy of Macedon and NYPS/Pittsford Painting in the Men’s 60+
  • Dagny Drake of Cambridge and Farm Team Cycling in the Girls 10-12
  • Isaac Allen of Marlboro and Bicycle Depot in the Boys 10-12
  • Gianni Polhemus of Spencertown and Farm Team in the Boys 13-14
  • Julia Sante of Queensbury and Farm Team in the Girls 13-14
  • Keane Brennan of Cambridge and Farm Team in the Boys 15-16
  • Daniel Jardin of Mexico and Max Power Cycling in the Boys 17-18.

As encouraged by NYSBRA and supported with a NYSBRA grant, free entry was extended to reigning New York State Champions in both events (in the specific disciplines that is).

NYS Road Championship Results May 7th

The NYS road race championships were held at Bristol Mountain south of
Rochester on the 7th under variable skies moderate temps. We have
some new state champions to announce!  284 racers competed in 9
categories and I’m pleased to announce the following winners …

Mens P-1-2
Brendan Housler

Mens Cat3
Dylan Pudiak

Mens Cat4
Randy Hadzor

Mens masters 35-44
Dan Staffo

Mens masters 45-54
Carl Reglar

Mens masters 55-59
Tim Leonard

Mens masters 60+
Mark McCarthy

Womens P-1-2-3
Ruth Sherman

Womens masters 35+
Margaret Thompson

All winners will receive a special NYS RR champions jersey courtesy of
NYSBRA and will be able to race for free at a number of regions races
within the state.

Complete results can be found here;

Podium pictures between the rain and hail can be found here:

Thanks to all who came out to race! And a special thanks to
Constellation Brands, Nalgene, Park Ave Bike, Bristol Mountain, and
NYSBRA for their support. Please distribute this email to your
respective clubs.

Rochester Road Racing